Rain

I have exaggerated the gloom a bit but it was pretty dismal in town because of the rain, people tend to put their heads down and march on to wherever they are going.
The film I saw on Tuesday was a documentary called Letters from Baghdad and it was about the life and work of Gertrude Bell (1868 - 1926).  She was a writer, traveller and archaeologist among other things and was involved in the creation of modern Iraq.  The film used a lot of archive film footage filmed in the middle east but it also featured her own photographs, which I found fascinating.  I presume she was using a large plate camera with a tripod, and it said in the film that she did her own developing, so I was enormously impressed by all of that but the photographs were good as well.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.