Blown Away

Lunchtime at Belhaven Sands with the westerly wind blowing tendrils of sand across the beach and into the sea. Mother Nature certainly shifts a lot of sand, which makes the efforts of the diggers which have been piling sand up on the beach-side of the bridge look completely pointless. It'll all be swept away with the next spring tide!
It was handy today for me to get to the bridge and off to the school, but right by the bridge I was ankle-deep in puddly, muddly sand. Off it goes.

I was on the beach bike again with a 4 inch front tyre at 7 PSI :) Brilliant fun.

Arriving at the school to fetch Katie, I don't think the yummy mummies were very impressed with sandy, sweaty dad. One little girl I know said "you're a bit sweaty." Her teacher said "when we notice things like that we don't say so." I winked at the little girl and made a mental note about the teacher. Prim.

Big Blast.

Later on Katie and Gordon went to Beavers with me, because it was my turn to be the parent helper. We made vegetable people and played rounders outdoors, all good fun but by heck there's some bad wee lads even at the age of 6-8. There were 2 who were constantly at it, 5 minute time-outs are the only sanction the leaders have but I could see that patience was wearing thin. I'd ban them I think, it ruins the group.

Now a weekend with the children to look forward to and the Tour of Britain to watch. I'm kicking myself for not being in Dumfries, where my dad lives, for Mark Cavendish's fabulous victory yesterday. What a cycling year for the UK!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.