Snapdecisions

By HF1

A Visit to Bewdley

We drove to Bewdley, Worcs to spend the day with my sister. Luckily, it was an easy drive up the M5 - I spotted some red kites above my sister's house - they seem to be spreading everywhere.
We enjoyed the sun in the garden and walked into Bewdley through the Museum Gardens . There was a lovely holiday atmosphere.Lots of friendly people- Midlanders are very warm.

I took a trip down memory lane by walking up to the SVR station platform . Paul wanted to see the engines coming in - this one is Erlstoke Manor. I remember much money raising going on for it in the 1970's, when I used to run the Gift Shop for the railway in my student holidays. Much fun used to be had riding on the footplate of the engines on evening specials to Arley! Happy Days - the railway was in its infancy then - it has now extended the line to Kidderminster. Before that, I can remember before the line was axed and the engine drivers used to wave to us as we played in the playground of the Primary School below the line.

Paul did all the driving and we were home by half past 9 after calling on my Nephew's partner  in their first home which they have just bought in Stourport. A good day ( apart from Trump's statement on the Paris Agreement - grrrr!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.