adyclick

By adyclick

YORK AT NIGHT

For some time now I have been wanting to go into town and spend a couple of hours with my camera. Well I went tonight and had a super time, but then the usual dilemna - which to blip.

I only did part of the city, wanting to save some for another day. I set the camera to manual and played about with varying exposure settings and shutter speeds
The photograph I have selected was shot at 20 seconds - f14 - ISO200

For those of you out there that have been to york, this shot was taken from just outside the Art Gallery in Exhibition Square, and just to the left is the statue of York artist William Etty 1787 - 1849.

Beyond the fountain to the right, The De Grey rooms, originally a mess room and named after Thomas Philip de Grey 2nd Earl and Colonel-Commandant of the Yorkshire Hussars.

To the left is Bootham Bar, which has been a gateway to the city for almost 2000 years. It stands on the site of the original Roman gate, however, the Arch dates from the 11th century and the rest is largely from the 14th century.
In 1501 a door knocker was installed, as the Scots were required to knock first and seek permission to enter from the Lord Mayor.

And in the background our majestic Minster towering above the city.

I've had so much fun tonight I don't know why I've waited for so long. Highly recommended, go on, have a go. You could be surprised with the results.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.