FlowerFriday 2: Swamp Milkweed

There are approx. 20 Native Milkweeds in Florida. One of them is this White Swamp Milkweed Asclepias perennis. This little beauty resides behind our bog. I've not been able to grow them since forever so I'm thrilled that this one is doing so well. They really do need damp conditions, hence the word 'Swamp' in their name, duh! I thought that I could just water them occasionally and that would be enough...apparently not. Monarch Butterflies greatly appreciate Swamp Milkweed as do many other butterflies and pollinators, for both it's nectar and food for their larval stages. Thanks to BikerBear for continuing to host FlowerFriday!

And in Tribute to the nations and peoples of our planet who support the Paris Climate Accords  and who will certainly be on the right side of history, I offer this quote:

"We are all butterflies. Earth is our chrysalis."
 -LeeAnn Taylor

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.