It's that man again!

Sir Walter Scott seems to be haunting me at the moment. I've been studying him for the tour bus. He bought Cartleyhole, a farmhouse and land half a mile from where my house is now, in 1811. As it was also known as Clarty Hole, he changed its name to Abbotsford. He built his Scottish Baronial style home over the next few years and the original farmhouse was demolished in 1822. Built into the house are many artefacts, stones, and relics from ancient castles. This includes a door from the Tollbooth in Edinburgh. I suppose it was an early form of upcycling!

This afternoon I caught the train into Edinburgh and was standing in Princes Street waiting on a bus when I turned round and there he was, Sir Walter, all smug in his monument. I reckoned he deserved a blip for his troubles!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.