dreaming

By dreaming

Quiet comfort

When I drove my older sister back home from a doctor's appointment, I saw that there was a new set of wicker furniture lining the side of the entrance road, under the overhang by the front door.  Together with the flower arrangements, it makes a lovely spot for waiting to be picked up or just relaxing on a nice day.

Today was my volunteer day, and I worked again with a Vietnamese couple I've seen several times.  They told me that they feel as if I were their grandmother - they worry about me when I don't come, and they want to bring me food.  Back home they lived several generations in one household, but now the wife's parents live alone.  I think she has transferred some of her concern for them onto me.  We're not allowed to accept gifts from our students, but I was touched to know they feel that way about me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.