Moving on

I spent a bit of solace time in the Belair NP this afternoon, but couldn't quite bring myself to go down to Playford Lake. 

I spotted a lady crawling around in the bush, and I knew straight away she had found a colony of orchids.  Sure enough - the tiny mosquito orchid.  They are very common, and can occur in large patches, but the flowers themselves are exquisitely tiny.  It looks nice in large against the black background.  The whole flower spike is no more than 3-4 cms tall and each flower is measured in millimetres.  I am still annoyed with myself for selling that 100mm macro lens.  What was I thinking!

Thanks again for your condolences concerning Mishy.  She was indeed a delightful little dog.  She has made it to the top row of popular - she'd be proud of that.

The amazing thing is that Raj is still prowling around the house looking for her.  I thought he might miss her for a day or so, but he is quite distressed and keeps calling for her.  He's a Siamese so you know what  that means.  He can be loud.

I've added an image of the whole flower spike in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.