The Pete District

By Morton

All That Glitters

Subjected to a day's retail therapy today. One port of call was an emporium dedicated to the upkeep of faces, predominantly women's faces. Pastes, paint boxes, unctions of every flavour and hue, lipsticks and salves, brushes, crayons and pencils, and various spare or replacement parts; eyelashes, hair extensions and coloured contacts. I found myself surrounded by children just starting out on this lifelong quest for refurbishment, through to women of a certain age desperately searching for that one special product guaranteed to melt away the ravages of time. Out of my comfort zone, I sought solace in photography. This caught my eye, glittering like Christmas in a bowl. I do apologize for appearing several times in the picture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.