The Mountains are Calling

Mountain memories evoked once again by the flowers in my garden.  I first saw St Bruno’s Lily, Paradisea lilastrum, in the Pyrenees where it was a majestic giant.  More recently I have encountered somewhat more delicate forms in the Alps.  The plants in the garden, raised from seed – and yes, it does seed around here - have shorter, more rounded petals than those I have seen in the Alps but they still transport me away to the mountains.

A quiet Sunday at home until late afternoon, plenty of gentle gardening, including the discovery of a family of hedgehogs, nesting in dry vegetation gathered under an old compost sack.  I quickly abandoned tidying up in that part of the garden and having replaced the sack I am hopeful all will be well.


Work tonight is a drag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.