Never

"If you haven't written a book by now, you are never going to write one".

Someone said that to me. It could have been anyone. In fact, I can picture every single one of my friends saying these words. Some matter of factly, some almost tenderly, most with not a slight dose of sarcasm. And they are probably right.

But is the finality of that statement that really gets to me. The absolute certainty. Not a possibly, or a probably to soften the blow. Never...

That word has finally given me the "urge". That thing that writers talk about. A need to keep going, or, in my case, to get started.

I have nothing except from an ink blot character, a vague idea and a dogged determination to prove everyone wrong. Including myself.

Mind you. Perhaps, and only perhaps, this clueless, unreliable narrator is just another fiction, a character. Maybe the plot has already been carefully laid out inside someone else's head. Someone whose plans I am yet to know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.