Mono Monday #176

What's in a name....our Blip Name that is!!  Thanks to DollyKGray for setting this intriguing challenge this week for Mono Monday.  I have been really enjoying reading everyone's blips.  Wow, you're an interesting lot.

Well let me tell you, Walking Wombat has been my bi-line for over 20 years now and it harks back to the mid 1990's when I used to run a walking business in Sydney.  The tourist side of the business required a name and for some reason I had it firmly fixed in my head that the name should include Wombat in some way.

I was staying at Thredbo in the Snowy Mountains with my friend Nan at the time that I was establishing this side of my walking business.  I happened to blurt out to her that if I happened to see a Wombat while I was staying in Thredbo over the weekend then that would set in concrete my name for the new business.  Well the rest is history.  As luck would have it, late on the Sunday night her son came running into the chalet with the exciting news that there was a big fat Wombat just outside.

I guess deep down I have always had a love affair with the often much maligned Wombat and from naming my walking business Walking Wombats to eventually naming the land I would build on in the Blue Mountains Wombat Hollow, it was pretty obvious what my blip name would be.

The image I have posted tonight is actually the original logo that I had created for my Tourism walking business way back in 1996 and its still going strong today. 

 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.