good morning canary

By sk

what's in a name

the mono monday challenge is to explain yourself!

when i joined blipfoto i got in a bit of a muddle during the sign up and instead of my name being good morning canary, it was my initials entered in the wrong place, that ended up being my name.

so, here i am at the age of 4 (i took a leaf out of Shygirl's book and went back to a wrinkle free era!).  it must be christmas time as the surrounding photos in the album are of Peter Jones' christmas windows and my chalk drawing of the nativity on the blackboard that my parents blocked the unused fire place with (out of shot) in our nursery.   

as you can see,  wwII habits of throwing nothing away that might be of use had been well ingrained and my mother's ironing board was ancient.  the television was the one on which, though only 3 at that time, i still remember looking up and seeing the news of JFK's assassination and the distress of my parents.  i still have that chest of drawers (repainted many times), part of a lot bought at auction that came with the upright piano that dad liked to play chopsticks on. 

i appear to be dressed up as a princess or a fairy.  i vaguely recall the tiara, whether it was for dressing up or my mum's... there is no one left to tell me. my sturdy star topped wand was made by our dutch au pair Gerry, who lived with us for several years and was very much part of our family.  her parents would come over in the summer and my younger brother and i would be allowed to go camping with them and eat cheese and chocolate for breakfast.

thank you Dolly - this challenge has made me remember so much from just one photo.

yesterday's snail is still playing dead
maybe it is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.