Wild?

The day when a challenge becomes . . . a challenge! It has rained and rained and rained . . . all day.
 
So, here is a wildflower, a Welsh Poppy, looking very forlorn – in the rain – in the garden. And a few questions (I’m not expecting anyone to answer these, they are just a few thoughts around the idea of wildness).

If a wildflower is in a garden, is it still wild? If a wildflower is planted in a garden, does it become a garden flower? We have lots of these Poppies in our garden, but they are also out in the wild – do they change category? This Poppy is in my wildflower book, but it is not native to this area, so how did it get here? If it is an escapee from the garden, is it still wild?  Is the rain ever going to stop?
 
   
Oops! I said I would give my thoughts on the shortlisted books, no time now – tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.