And they named her Gloria

When I joined Blipfoto I didn't realise that most people made up names for themselves. My name is Gloria and so that was that. My father wanted to call me Prudence after his Mother. My mother was not having that name for her first baby girl....my sister got it as a second name!

The name Gloria got on their list because an American little girl called Gloria Vanderbilt was often in the newspapers. "Poor little rich girl" she was referred to, she was at the centre of a high profile child custody trial. I looked her up to write this and she was born in 1924 and is still alive. Hope I follow her example.

Anyway the name Gloria seems to make many people think "empty, fluffy headed, bimbo" etc. My first boss at ICI in the 1960s told me that he nearly didn't interview me because of my name.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.