Lost in Thought (MM176)

Oh er ... an interesting challenge for Mono Monday.!

My blip journal title was chosen as I frequently am lost in thought so this week's entry is an effort to explain some of the why .... 

The Kodak Retina was my father's and the first camera I used seriously.  I quite enjoy figuring out how things work, so it being entirely manual it suited that very well. Sadly, that does often involve reading the (friendly)  manual(s).

The books are a mixture of the sort of thing I often read ... apart from photography books!  I've always had an interest in science and exploration, hence the Buzz Aldrin book.  The German and grammar books are a hangover from my schooldays ... we didn't have language lessons at secondary modern, so when our children started with them I took an evening class in German and have stayed with the class ever since.  Not that I have any ability with languages,  but I do at least now fully understand why I had so much difficulty with English grammar (and spelling) at primary school!  I would probably have been better off at school in Germany,  at least they do try to stick to the rules :-)  Studying German has also given a push to my interest in history and how the world came to state it is in today ... I am frequently lost in thought as to why people believe what they do, how they act upon those beliefs and why the unintended consequences are so easily unseen until it is too late.    As my mother often said - we learn from our mistakes, but it would be so much quicker to learn from the mistakes of others!

... and that is definitely enough navel gazing for one blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.