MurielSpark

By MurielSpark

A Girl of Slender Means

I like the absurdity of taking a famous persons name. I like absurdity. I wanted my photographs to have a "spark", a surprise, something unexpected.
My parents bookshelves contained a lot of mid century British literature, which, as a teenager, I worked my way through. She wasn't my favourite, but I didn't want to be GeraldDurrell, StellaGibbons or DHLawrence.
She was Scottish/but not quite Scottish, (like me) unsettled and unsettling, with her pale Bette Davis eyes. Not quite sure if I'd have liked to meet her.
I don't actually own any of her books, (most of my "reading" is done through Audible these days) so I went to the Oxfam bookshop to find one. They had a couple on the shelf, (in the extra) but in the end I liked the window display more. That paper decoration is fab, though sadly not for sale.

Love the challenge and looking forward to seeing everyone else's entries.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.