"Blip Names"....

....the theme for today's mono monday challenge; a huge thanks to Dollykgray for hosting and for coming up with this great idea!

I retired at the end of January in 2016 after 44 years working as a Registered Nurse. When I first began my career (and for years after I started) there were no computers, so all charting had to be painstakingly written out in each patients chart. Each chart had a signature page where you'd sign your initials, followed by your full name, and then any charting you did after that just had to be initialed:  hence, the "DFB". After I married Tom, technically it should have been DFD, but after all those years of signing the "dfb" it was easier to just continue signing it the same. The "24" is because my birthday is on the 24th of Jan.  
I was named "Diane" after my mom's favorite cousin, and my middle name, "Frances", is a family name. The original Francis was my great-grandfather, who named his youngest daughter-- my grandma--Frances. She in turn gave my mother the middle name of Frances, who gave it to me. I, in turn, passed it on to my daughter as her middle name, and she, continuing the tradition, gave it as a middle name to my granddaughter. I also have assorted cousins who were gifted with the same family name, and it's become a tradition at every big family gathering that we do a "Frances" picture--I think just so we can smirk at all those family members not fortunate enough to carry on the legacy!  Haha! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.