Mono Monday : : Wildwood

Thanks to Dollykgrey for suggesting this fascinating topic. Not that I am so fascinating but that it is so fascinating to read all the other entries.. x

Berkeley is the town where I went to college and raised three children. I married OilMan after my freshman year and we bought a house which we lived in for 45 years. I knew everybody, could walk everywhere and had such a comfortable life that a friend christened it the 'Jennie A lifestyle'. (For Jennie is  my real name) When I started on Blipfoto and had to come up with a name, Berkeley Blipper seemed the obvious choice.

But we humans are never satisfied. I began to feel that I simply couldn't live in the same house in the same town my entire life. Berkeley was becoming more crowded and the fog, which I hate, continued to roll in seemingly every night. OilMan had retired so we started looking around for a place to move to...no easy task since we were both convinced that it had to be 'the perfect place' to make us uproot from a place where we had been very happy. And we really had no idea what that was, although we thought we did.

Our friends, who had stopped paying any attention when we talked about moving, and were convinced we never would, were shocked when we actually did it in November 2012. We moved from a charming but dark 100 year old Craftsman home on a tiny lot with no view,  to a light open plan ranch style house on several acres on Wildwood Trail in the middle of Sonoma County wine country, The first couple of years of this journal are about that move. 

Many of my early entries were about the move and what it was like after so long in one house.I changed my blip name to Wildwood when I began to think of this as home ....

We are surrounded by many varieties of oak trees here in Sonoma County and we can look out our windows into a stand of huge ones with 'wild' gnarly branches from our living room so I decided to try to capture that for today's challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.