Skipping out

A morning of whirlwinding around the office dealing with replacement mobile handsets for South Sudan, confirming plans with Juba, obtaining cash, stocking first aid kits and printing off project plans. I thought twenty seconds spent snapping this construction at the site where we work was an acceptable waste of time.

I finished packing in military fashion and had time for a quick nibble with the sublime Megan, visiting from Cambodia with her boyfriend who is a colleague of mine. Megan's presence, as she was wrapped up for wintry conditions, allowed us to carp about the ridiculous cold winds. She was incredulous when I confirmed Cambridge summers are usually nicer than most other parts of the country. I feel vindicated for all previous weather-whingeing.

The appeal of South Sudan is high, although it'll be a shame not to be pulling an all-nighter after Thursday's election, furiously messaging my politically engaged mates. Perhaps the world will be glad to be spared of my in-real-time pontifications, but it can be sure of some on Friday whatever happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.