Wing Power

3am alarm call for a dawn sortie to the ospreys this morning. I wish they had had the same call, as I had visions of them lounging around in their nest, having a leisurely lie-in, a cup of coffee or two even and generally taking in the weather thinking of a very late breakfast. 

Tagged 28, the same one as yesterday, he sauntered over and sat in the willow tree eyeing up the fish for his first meal. The tension in the hide was palpable; every finger on the shutter just waiting in anticipation for the lightning strike. Goodness he took his time. I could see my eye piece on the camera steaming up with the tension! 

Powering in he caught first time, manoeuvred in the water and with his huge wings lifted his prey out with awesome strength and force. I can't begin to put into words how exciting it was to see. What a treat. How could a day start better?! 

Can I thank everyone very very much for their comments, stars, hearts and just looking at my osprey of yesterday. So very chuffed you liked it. There is no internet access here and I am in the bar with only half an hours access to put this up - getting strange looks by passing customers :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.