Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Sumer is icumen in

Loude sing cuckou!

I'm recovering from the intensity of the weekend, appreciating this beautiful dragonfly on the rhododendron in Sue's back yard. I love the twinkling gold in its wings, the vibrant turquoise in its, um, stem? torso? abdomen? Help me out here, if you know something about these fascinating insects. 

Our meditation made the Washington Post, if only in the category of "Portland is weird." The bit that mentioned us, lest you might miss it, is here:

“To the north, hundreds of black-clad, left-wing, anti-fascist protesters chanted, blared music and held paper-mache spiders and skeletons, which have become signature icons at Portland protests. Beyond them, a group of Buddhists sat in silent protest.  [emphasis mine]

“And to the south, labor union members clad in helmets and safety vests screamed: ‘Racists! Murderers! Fascists! Out of Portland!’”

I added an Extra to yesterday's blip, it gives a wider view of the proceedings. 

I also wrote an article about our meditation. It ends like this: 

I circumambulated, made photographs, and wore a sign that read, “ASK ME ABOUT THIS MEDITATION.” Many paused to whisper questions. Most just wanted to express thanks. Some wept. One young woman said, passionately, “I’m making a cell phone picture to send to my grandparents, so they can see how other grandparents support us.” 

“Thank you.”
“Bless you for this.”

We distributed flyers with our mission statement and relevant web addresses. 

“I needed this.”
“I hope you keep doing this.”
“This is beautiful.”
“I’ll join you the next time.” 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.