Em

My Aunt Emily, long gone, was one of the most fun, full-of-life people I ever met.  But she was the biggest teaser.  My mom said she always was.  She told us when they were kids walking to school, and had to wait for the train to pass by, Em would walk up as close as she could to the tracks and hold up her skirt and say, "suck me under".  It made her sisters cry.  I can picture her wise crack smile and hear her laugh. As a kid, my Aunt Em teased me like crazy. She made me laugh all the time with the mischief she stirred up. She treated me like a king with her heart of gold.

Em has her name.  Right now she is so sweet.  Who knows?  When she gets a little older maybe she will be a punk like her great aunt.

Photo: this is Emily with her aunt, my daughter Jess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.