I Spy

This morning I back blipped a Roman Snail for yesterday and then had a very productive and satisfying morning. So I decided to have an hour looking for what's new at Panshanger Park mid afternoon. The butterflies soon caught my eye: Red Admirals amongst them but I couldn't catch them with the camera.

As I chased them through the long grass I noticed firsts huge number of blue damselflies and then lots and lots of thick white webs. On closer inspection I saw they contained Labyrinth Spiders, Agelena labyrinthica.

The head and body is nearing 2cm long and they're very timid, scuttling I to their funnel web as I approached. According to uksafari.com, "Further down the funnel is a labyrinth of tunnels which gives this spider its name", and deep inside that are the spiderlings (not that they were visible in the grass).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.