Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Decaying Petals

Bragging rights appear to be due to our New Zealand blippers following the game between the Auckland Blues and British and Irish Lions earlier.  The Lions domination up front came to nought against the amazing off-loading game of the Blues - Well done (grudgingly).

I took advantage of some hours owed to me to start work later and watch the match - next week I won't need to worry!  In the end I grabbed some rose flowers to find a late blip.  We love David Austin roses but this one (I think it is the Abraham Darby variety), was dragging across the ground after recent weather.  It has a very lax branches anyway and the weight of the flower head can often mean it bends back to the ground.  I was fascinated to see the scaled appearance on the edge of the petals as it starts to decay.  It is one of the great things about macro photography.  It gets you to look closer than you might normally.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.