Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Anniversaries

It is 10 years since the Pasha Bulker ran aground on Nobbys beach and 75 years since the guns at Fort Scratchley were fired on an enemy.  This morning I went up to the Fort to get an overhead shot of Nobbys Beach to show you it without the Pasha Bulker and Dad’s Army were firing the guns again and so I give you a shot of them in the third extra.  I feel I must however relay my recollections of 10 years ago.  So leave now if you don't have the interest or time as it is a long read.
 
10 years ago today started rather similarly to this morning.  It was dull and overcast but one difference I remember was that the wind was whistling like a banshee in the electricity wires overhead.  It was a combination of factors.  An East Coast Low was forming off the coast and it was King Tides and huge seas.  From recollection, we had just come out of a drought and I believe that nature was making up for it.  It rained and rained and rained and rained.  I might add we have had heavy rain today and yesterday too.
 
The combination of heavy rain (I think we had something like 200mm that day or close to it perhaps more) and the King Tide meant that the storm water drains simply couldn’t cope.  The result was widespread flooding.  Meanwhile out to sea the winds had whipped the waves up and the coal ships that were waiting off port were ordered to head out to sea.  Three were dangerously close to running aground.  I watched the Sea Confidence against all odds pull away from the shore. (Last extra) The captain has since been praised for his skills in averting another disaster.    Another was close to grounding off Stockton Beach, company for the Sygna which had ran aground there in the 70s after a freak storm.  We began to receive emails saying a coal ship was on Nobbys beach.  We heard that the East end of town had been cordoned off except to residents and so someone I worked with who lived there took me and another person down to look at the ship on Nobbys Beach.  I had seen some men being lifted off the ship by helicopter from King Edward park earlier (sixth extra) when I was looking at the Sea Confidence (last extra) but by the time we got there, there was no one left on board.  An empty ship beached with the waves crashing over it.    We stood watching while men in jetskis buzzed around it (2nd and 4th extras).  I heard on the radio this morning a member of the surf patrol describing what it was like on the jet ski with oil in the water and the huge waves.  They had to throw their wet suits away apparently.  It was not something you noticed at the time, just the huge waves and the spray and this massive ship.
 
This all happened in the morning but we went back to work and carried on.  Meanwhile, it rained and rained and rained and rained.  It was a Friday too.  What we weren’t told was that there was massive flooding everywhere.  We knew there was some flooding but not to the extent it was.  Other people left early and made it home safely.  We had left it too late.  To avoid the traffic I took some back ways and noticed minor flooding.  I then really hit a bad spot closer to home.  There were cars abandoned in the middle of the road, huge garbage bins floating past me.  I had a small 4wd and kept going.  The thing I remember about driving through flood water is not to if possible but if you absolutely have to, don't go fast, take it smoothly and slowly so it doesn't get up into the engine.  I came across a fire engine driving through these flood waters and followed it to a higher road and eventually made it home.  My house is on a hill so I had no danger of the flood waters.  Meanwhile, it rained and rained and rained.  Later that night the winds picked up and the rains eased.  It was frightening seeing sturdy trees bent over double and whipping about.  I was waiting for the trees and branches to come down,  mesmerised by the violence of it and not able to sleep.  About 2 am the power went out.  I found a battery operated radio and started listening to the local radio.  It was comforting.  By dawn the winds had dropped and the sun came out.  With no power I decided I may as well go out and have a look around.  Well that was a bit difficult, trees were down everywhere, abandoned cars were dotted all over the roads, fortunately the flood waters had subsided although underground carparks were still full with cars with water marks up to the roof still in place.  I went around to see if the ship was still on Nobbys beach and yes it was.  The link is the photo I took of it that morning (I think I would process it differently now).  It was a long weekend which I remember spending mainly in bed to keep warm with the radio beside me.  The local ABC did a marvellous job in those circumstances keeping you up to date with what was happening and whether you would get power on or not.   Here is another link to an article they have done on the anniversary.  

My power came on after about 5 days I recall.  I had taken food from the fridge into work and used the freezers there as for some reason the building had power.  There is a shower there too so I could at least have a wash which was nice.  It was handy to power the laptop which I used to watch a few movies.    I used the barbecue for cooking and had candles at night.  You could not find a candle or battery in the shops which were open.  Fortunately I had enough to last me until the power came on.
 
There have since been many tales of heroism of people rescuing other people from flooded cars.  Alas 9 people died in that storm.  If you are ever up this way I will show you the flood signs with the marks where the water came to and you won’t believe it.  In months following I remember a remark about the number of new cars in Newcastle.  Well that was because so many had been destroyed in the flood waters.  Not to mention the damage done to houses.

It was a time I will never forget.   Congratulations too if you have got this far.

As for the guns being fired at Fort Scratchley, there was a Japanese Sub hiding behind the lighthouse out of line of the guns firing on our steelworks.  In a shift in tides it came into view and the guns were fired. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.