BJH

By BJH

First cactus flower

The big cactus on my kitchen window sill has produced its first flower of the year. It tends to flower twice each year and the most flowers I can remember on it at one time is four, but this time there's only one.

I thought I'd better photograph this flower for today's entry as it has been open for the third day today and previous flowers have usually started to wilt on the 4th day, or the 5th at the latest.

This blip nearly did not happen though as the best time for the cactus to catch the sun is between 6:30 and 7:30 pm but just at the start of that time slot large dark clouds started to appear and the sun disappeared. It was a relief when it managed to break through the clouds again so I could take a few shots of the cactus flower in full sunshine before the sun would start to move into a wrong position.

Thank you very much for the kind comments and stars on yesterday's gull blip.



Last night was not a good night for me and unfortunately today hasn't been any easier either. I'm glad I'm not working at the moment so I could stay indoors the whole day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.