I wonder!

What a day I have had . . . and not a flower, or bit of nature in sight.
 
It started with arriving at the Polling Station in the village soon after 7am, convinced we would be the first - we weren't, not quite. Then Gordon dropped me off at Wetheral Station, so I could get the Newcastle train. 
 
There are times when I wonder why I pay a, not insignificant, subscription to 'Explore' and make these long journeys on an almost weekly basis. Then I have a day like today . . . and I know why. 
 
Started this morning with the most amazing talk by an Underwater Archaeologist linked to Durham University, who has spent many, many years exploring the River Wear at Durham - right down to the original sandstone bed. He has found thousands and thousands of pieces of medieval ware, mainly relating to pilgrimage, and the attendant peddling and trading that went on, on the Elvet Bridge. The photographs were wonderful and included some footage of him actually making the finds underwater. I was staggered by it all and want to go to Durham where a few of his finds can be seen. One of the most fascinating talks I have ever really been to - no wonder the room was full and everyone was as enthralled as I was.
 
This was followed by an entertaining short talk about the pilgrimage shrine at Wolsingham, Norfolk.
 
Then in the afternoon we were reading Beowulf, something I had never read, but always meant to. I bought the translation by Seamus Heaney as suggested and am really enjoying it. But what it needed was this young guy who knew everything about it, was very, very enthusiastic and made it all so approachable. Brilliant stuff. An hour and a half flew by and then it was down to the station and the return train (the blip – Newcastle Station).
 
And it didn’t end there. Gordon came to pick me up at the station and we went straight to Barton Church, near Pooley Bridge, for a guided tour of the church organised by Appleby Archaeology Group. Sadly, the weather put a stop to an outside look at the building, but we had a fascinating tour of the interior of this quite distinctive church, with its amazing Norman arches and a remarkable number of links with the Wordsworth family.
 
Then it was back home for something to eat. 

Now I'm not sure whether I want to follow the Election results, as we have always done. After such an inspiring day, do I really want to be so depressed? Or could we hope . . . . . . .  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.