Helena Handbasket

By Tivoli

Bucketing

The correct way to transport liquids in a bucket over short distances is to walk carrying the bucket by its handle. The correct way to transport dry goods in a bucket over long distances is to wrap the bucket in a cloth and tie it to a stick which you carry over your shoulder. This is a rudimentary backpack and is exactly how Mrs Drosakis was transporting something from her cottage outside the village to her house within the village today. Mrs Drosakis is possibly the last person on Earth to adopt this ancient method, I see her doing it quite often but I have never quite plucked up the courage to ask her if I may take a photo. Normally of course I offer her a lift but today we were travelling in opposite directions and she had stopped to talk with someone else. So it was very lucky that today I found the junior school children rehearsing their Singing-in-the-Rain dance routine or else I might have been stumped for a blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.