Banded Demoiselle

Up early (04:30) wondering why Mrs madwill hadn’t come to bed - only to find her downstairs sitting watching the election results on the TV.

By that time it was pretty clear that the Tories were not going to win - so she went up to grab a couple of hours sleep before work!

I went out with Finlay around 6 a.m and we were out for an just over an hour. Dismayed to find that a large swathe of the woods we regularly use has been cleared since Wednesday - an obvious wide, straight clearing that looks ominously big enough for a road. I have seen no planning notices and can’t find anything on the council portal, so I have no idea what is going on…. watch this space.

Supermarket shopping in the morning followed by a trip to Wetherby riverside after lunch - where I spotted several of these wonderful insects, quite close to the river and almost underneath the A1(M) flyover over the Wharfe. I believe that it is a Banded Demoiselle. I was able to get to within a couple of feet of this one and had my lens at full 300 mm zoom. Looks tons better in LARGE

It is a cropped image but not overly so - the full frame can be seen here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.