Marsupium Photography

By magi

new dawn

A throughly restless night and it all started so well: I decided to just sleep and only check the results in the morning. I woke up at 3 and I decided to have a quick peek. I ended up being awake for most of the rest of the night.

I am mostly happy with the results of the elections. The Tories didn't get what they wanted but still have to deal with their mess. Labour won hugely showing that a programme on the left is possible. Their campaign was charged with hope. I can understand the SNP loosing seats to Labour, it makes sense as the SNP is unlikely to be part of a UK government (something I really dislike about the British system, the regional parties are mostly irrelevant). I am shocked by the huge Scottish Tory win. But in the end it probably does reflect attitudes.

I expect this government not to last very long. Labour should seriously back Corbyn and prepare for the next election so they can win with a progressive manifesto.

The election result shows how deeply divided this country is: Tories on the right and Labour on the left; leave and remain; independent Scotland and the Union. All these splits are give or take 50/50. Someone needs to heal these rifts and develop a vision that can be supported by the majority.

The sleepless night had one advantage: I got to see the sun briefly appear between the horizon and the clouds. I take these rays of hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.