An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

0:10 a.m.

Ten past twelve in the morning and this band, Will & the People are just kicking off. In Salisbury's Music Box, which was kitted out in a Jamaican theme, with foliage and real grass laid over the dancer-floor!

One thing about being the only 'official' music freelance photographer out on the town is that you see and meet some interesting people and as the shot of the deliriously demented Dream Overkill that I posted for yesterday, taken in another venue only minutes before this, you can cover two days on blipfoto in one sitting!

On the DX frame D7000, I frequently use the tiny and light full-frame fisheye Nikkor 16mm and I get a lot more in but without the mega curving distortion. What's even better is that, unlike an ultrawideangle, people at the edges are 'drawn' inwards and so don't look mega-fat or distorted horribly. Not for all tastes or situations, but here it's ideal, allowing me to kneel in front of the revellers as they dance behind me.

Maybe my submission to my local paper, I like to allow a small amount of movement blur to creep in, as long as it's well controlled, as it conveys a true sense of authenticity. You can't hear the energy or the rhythm of this five piece (they're all in, somewhere!) but you can suggest, visually.

The colours are all as they were, no flash and only some shadows lightening from the RAW original. I believe the venue closes at 3 a.m., but I didn't stay that long!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.