Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Another mozzie type fly - plume moth!

A very unusual fly here, about the right size for a mosquito, but probably not. As we have established in recent blips, mozzies have a permanent needle mouth part on display. This can be missing on the male, as he does not feed in his lifetime as an imago, but the male also has more elaborate antennae, used in locating his female. So, looking at this very exotic fly, no mouth, no fancy antennae - conclusion, I have no idea what it is!

Busy day today, so don't know when I will get to post this. A lot going on at the moment, distracting me away from my blip duties. Hopefully resolved shortly but really feeling stressed out at the moment. A full explanation will follow very soon, just bear with me for now.

Update - well who would have guessed, it is actually a plume moth. Thanks to Gen2.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.