Swamp

The day started off good, getting ready for a trip to our niece's wedding and then the phone call comes in from my son.  "Mom, I think you need to take me to the hospital.  I think I broke my ankle."   Everyone at his house was at work and the grandson being not quite 14 can't drive yet.  So I throw a walker in the back of my car and go get him and the grandson and off we go to the hospital.  Amazingly once there the ER was not chaotic and he got right in.  The question is asked, how did this happen?  My son has a condition called  paroxysmal cough hypoxia and if he starts coughing hard he passes out, which he did and fell twisting his ankle and hitting his head.  So to make a long story longer, he had gone to his doctor earlier in the week because he and his family had all come down with colds after their trip to take the granddaughter to her college orientation weekend.  His doctor told him he had bronchitis and put him on antibiotics- hence the coughing fit.

Soooooooooo at the hospital after asking all the questions about this passing out, the ankle and the egg sized lump on his head, they took chest and ankle x-rays and a CT scan on his head.  His ankle was definitely broken on both sides and surgery is the only way to fix it so they kept him in the hospital due to the passing out and want to get clearance from a cardiologist so there won't be any problems with the surgery. 

We're all relieved that this passing out problem is getting more attention as his regular doctor keeps saying there is nothing that can be done about it, that he just needs to control his coughing when it starts.

This image was taken on the way home from the hospital close to 8:00pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.