There's been a Murder.

There's been a murder.

Lest you think the harmony of the Dower House has been shattered and my future blips will be from inside Corton Vale, let me add that his Lordship still lives to stalk the land, and I was not the perpetrator of the hideous crime which unfolded on my doorstep

Sitting at my desk yesterday, I noticed a collared dove hunched up close to the wall as if trying to hide.
Before I thought to intervene, I watched a crow hopping nearer and nearer.
With my human instincts I wondered if it were concerned about the plight of the dove and was considering giving moral support.

My naivety and innocence were banished at a stroke when the crow made a lunge with its beak at the poor bird, who tried to flap a wing at the assassin, but something was broken and it put up a poor defence as the crow persisted.

When a blood thirsty magpie arrived on the scene, I had had enough and beat a coward's retreat before the coup de grace, leaving nature to take its course.

Today only a few feathers lie at the murder scene, to bear witness to the bloodshed.

Recent events in the Middle East only serve to illustrate how little man's behaviour, despite it being the 21st century, has progressed from that of other species.

Bird eat bird and man kill man.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.