Collecting Moments

By AudreyJ

Now you see it....

Now you don't.....

What started out as a pleasant walk along the beach and some fun with the ball, ended up in tears and guilt.

It has been really windy today, after this shot was taken I wanted a few 'posed' shots and while I was holding the ball so the children could get into 'position' for a photo, I realised I'd need to put the ball down to actually take the picture, as I put it between my feet, a gust of wind came and pushed it out towards the sea at some speed. By the time I'd noticed and Aiden started running after her 'olympic ball' it was too far out in the sea to go in and rescue it, (so sorry to any marine life that this effects!)

So as we watched the ball drift further and further away within seconds, that was when the tears started and I felt awful, (a) for making them stop their fun to take a 'posed photo' (b) for allowing the wind to take it off me and (c) for not noticing quicker and running after it myself, which would have been some sight by the way.

I had to think of something quick to say to make her feel better, so besides promising to buy another 'olympic ball' (Please....Sainsburys have some more left!) I told her that someone else in another country needed that ball more than she did and that those 'olympic balls' are not sold in their country, and that whoever finds it will be so thankful and thank her (her name is on the ball....if it hasn't washed off by now even if it's just in their head. This seemed to calm her down, and she agreed. We then went onto a discussion about how material things aren't important anyway.

So this photo was taken before the 'drama'....to remind me of the happier moment before.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.