Death, the life story

By Alifestory

Little Boy Lost...

The funniest thing Uncle Gordon ever did was put a large bouquet: triangular in shape and a foot and a half long, in the top pocket of his dress suit at my cousin's wedding.  He didn't make a speech but a statement.  He said, there is madness here.

I'd already noticed it.  It was hard not to.  He had a shock of dark, curly hair and a shy smile that gave a strong hint of the little boy he'd been.  He often looked awkward.  My mother implied that perhaps everything was not all there. I could testify to this: when you arrived at he and Aunt Joan's house he'd scurry into the kitchen and make tea all round and often there would be a cry of, "Gordon," from my aunt to propel him onto some other task: vegetable peeling, washing, windows, pots, toilet cleaning, drain clearing and so forth all of which he undertook without ever complaining.

Aunt Joan was busy knitting. Sometimes she had a dozen or more balls of wool in cups as she clacked away stopping only for a cigarette.  I worried about her inventions - it was me and my sister that would have to wear them to school.  It took a long time to recover from the-school-jumper-that-wasn't, for example.  Bottle green in the body and sleeves, all very regular, Aunt Joan had made a creative decision to knit the cuffs and waist band in a green many shades lighter.  Inexplicably, she'd also made both 10" long - as a shy, retiring sort it wasn't the statement I was after making.  It said, 'Pick on me!  Firstly, I have zero control over my wardrobe and secondly, relatives with no taste.'  Doubtless, any expression of the humiliation I felt about this and any other such lovingly made hideousnesses would have seen me hit from the back to the front door for my ungratefulness, so I kept my counsel.

But I digress. A man of very few words, Gordon used to communicate by tickling you behind the ear.  I never got used to this even though - to give him credit - he did it consistently for a full 20 years.  I'd like to say I'm making this up, but I'm not.  He also liked to tickle behind the knees which (try it) often makes you collapse in a heap which he seemed to think was hilarious.  It was marginally amusing when he targeted someone other than you but it wore thin.

You can read the rest here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.