What struck my fancy

By TonyLuxton

Looking back - or time for another drink?

I visited Oxford, partly to reminisce and also to show grandson where I misspent my youth.

We had lunch in the Lamb and Flag (owned by the adjacent St Johns College, founded 1555) and were rather amused by this clock behind the bar. The clock suits the general ambience of this venerable city and its very old colleges which pervade the place with a strong sense of the past.

The lunch was well deserved after our climb to the top of Carfax Tower which provided the classical view shown as an extra. The wind was quite stiff at the top, sufficient to remove my hat which disappeared forever between the buildings below.

The second extra is the main quad of my college - Lincoln (1427), good to see the lawn in excellent order.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.