secret garden

By freespiral

Corpus Christi

I find this a fascinating and interesting thing. It's Corpus Christi today which celebrates the reality of the Body and blood of Jesus Christ (thank  you Wikipedia). In Ballydehob they still have the procession through the village - the congregation, the  little children who have recently received their first communion and the priest under his canopy holding the monstrance, the vessel the consecrated host is kept in, I think.  It is a bit of a mystery to a heathen but what I like is how the whole village has been decorated - the houses washed, even painted; the windows covered with nets and curtains, the religious statues proudly displayed and everywhere fresh flowers - on doorsteps, on windowsills, in buckets. This window is from one of the pubs - Levis Bar, which is renown for its music. You can see the whole thing in the extras.

As if that's not enough excitement it's also Trinity Sunday and one of the wells I visited last year has been restored and is being rededicated tonight so I think I must go along and record the event. It's blooming miles and it's blowing a hoolie but I guess it has to be done.

Edit: Just going off piste for a few days, catch up at the end of the week

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.