Watching the Kid leave home is not easy......

I haven't seen much of the Bald Eagle family lately because the nest is hidden by the leaves on the trees in front of it.....but today as I drove by I saw the Juvenile wobbly fly from a branch to the top of a telephone pole.... EEK.... mom was circling above watching and I suppose instructing him on his next move. I couldn't stop and watch to see what happened next, but when I drove back by 15 minutes later Mom was sitting in this dead tree looking down into the area below her; I couldn't see the juvenile but I assume he was safe somewhere below and that he is back in the nest safe and sound tonight. I plan on going over in the morning and scanning the area to see what is happening. I knew it was about time for the baby to fledge, but I had not heard of anyone seeing him out of the nest. I am always a bit excited to see the young ones discovering their wings and going out on their own. I will let you know what I discover tomorrow morning.  This is not the best of photos of the Eagle, but I wanted to post something so I could tell about what I saw and this is the best I could get.
Nice to have a really beautiful sunny day after all the rain. Also, nice to be back home.  The yard got a bit of attention, I pulled a few weeds, deadheaded rhodies and then we picked about 3 gallons of Hood Strawberries from the garden. They are so yummy! I freeze what we won't eat in a day or two. I have just finished using all the frozen strawberries from last year....perfect timing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.