Selfies from the Brink

By Markus_Hediger

The Visible Town

1
When I started blipping back in October 2016, I feared that I wouldn't have much to blip about because I considered our town incredibly ugly when compared to the beautiful places other blippers lived in. 

2
So I focused my camera on the one subject that is undeniably beautiful: people. I found beauty, lots of it, and it changed the way I viewed my world. It became not only beautiful, but also hopeful. People I used to ignore because I didn't know them allowed me glimpses into their lives, and I saw joy, wisdom and resilience in the midst of poverty and misery.

3
But then, inspired by fellow blippers, I began asking myself if our town was really as ugly as I had perceived it more than half a year ago. Or, if it was, what is it that makes it ugly? What is ugliness? What would happen if I pointed my camera not at people but at the spaces that open up between them? What's the visual language of our town? 

4
When I try to explain what makes blipfoto so special, I say that it is not a portfolio but more of an atelier with constantly open doors. Friends and strangers drop by to study, discuss, experiment and admire. It's freedom to explore in a wonderfully safe environment.

5
What's left when the camera decides to ignore people? Here in my main journal I will continue my search for beauty, experimenting with and thinking about photography. Leftovers, on the other hand, is a small atelier dedicated exclusively to the study of urban visual languages. No texts, just pictures. As always, you're invited to drop by, discuss, have a cup of coffee or tea, and inspire and be inspired.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.