MonoMonday Challenge - 177 My Best Friend

Today's challenge is a hard one.  I am in the busy phase of life between family and career where I seem to lose more friends than I make. Most of who I would consider life friends are not necessarily within easy distance to say, "hey buddy, lets go make a picture!"  haha

Well today after forgetting the cell phone at home when rushing off to take #1 child to first day of summer camp, I decided to hunker down and go for that long awaited bike ride at lunch.  The last two weeks with a summer cold and it would have been easy enough to just skip today too...

I am a long long ways away from my 2017 goal of 3000 km's... I am still hopeful, but depends what I do now in the next three months while the temperature is warm and daylight is long. I did take the camera with me on the ride and made some pictures of the bike in a field of wheat and then in front of some construction fencing for a different look.  I was tempted to post today's picture of 'my best two wheeled friend' but I prefer to cheat and post a picture from yesterday's outing to the mountains.

Mrs C wins the award for My Best Friend.  She has no choice.  ha.  Neither do the two little ones... :)  They don't seem to mind most of the time.  Beautiful day yesterday and we wanted to escape the heat wave. I wanted to hike up to the restaurant that I took CC this past winter for a father-daughter outing skiing at Courmayeur.  We finally got through to the restaurant 10 minutes before getting there to find out that they are closed until next weekend.  It turned out ok in any case and we had lunch at a refuge on the mountain with a lovely terrace with all of this to gaze upon.  (I never knew you could drive partially up on the mountain in the summer.)  We didn't have to hike either except to cross the field you see here since I made a wrong turn and decided it was more fun to walk the last bit than to turn around.  :)  After this picture we drove over to Val Veny to play in an alpine field and soak our feet in a stream from glacial run-off.  brrrr.... it became very painful if you soaked your feet more than 20 seconds.  Great day!

This picture you see part of the Mont Blanc massif with a huge hanging glacier I don't remember the name, the Turin Refuge and Dent du Geant on the French/Italian border.

Thanks Dollykgray for hosting this month's MonoMonday Challenge!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.