Gullane

I had lunch in Gullane today - and got a Blip.

That sounds quite posh, but it was a chicken & avocado sandwich from the Co-op. Oh, and a wee bag of crisps.

From 1982 until 2010 my parents lived a couple of miles west of there in Aberlady. For 25 years prior to that we were regular visitors as my Dad was a member at The Gullane Golf Club (not to be confused with the village's other clubs - Muirfield and Luffness). For 6 years after 2010 my Mum lived in a care home in North Berwick, a few miles to the east. 

So I've been in and about the village for... well, most of my life.

I have eaten in the Old Clubhouse (see Blip) but it was a long time ago. The wee blue hut is something to do with the pitch & putt course which starts there. My son and I played it many times when he was 7 or 8.

The village is all about golf - and the beach. Gullane Golf Club has 3 courses - one reserved for members and the other two for the paying public (they even have a separate clubhouse for the riff raff to use). GCC hosts the Scottish Open at the moment. Muirfield hosts the British Open from time to time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.