Arthur's Seat

I stayed in Edinburgh last night in the student accommodation below Arthur's Seat. The students have all gone home or away for the summer, leaving their rooms to be reunited out. Mine had a great view of Arthur's Seat and I thought of all the students who had unpacked their belongings there and said goodbye to their parents over the years...

I'd booked to stay the night because I'd planned to meet the Dunscore Birdwatching Group in North Berwick this afternoon, go on a boat trip with them to Bass Rock and then come home with them on the Community Bus. However, yesterday the boat company cancelled the trip because of windy weather. So I had a day to fill in Edinburgh.

I walked up Arthur's Seat in the morning. It was quite blowy on top, but dry and sunny. A woman arrived on the summit and called out "Why is it called Arthur's Seat? We should know the story!" But no-one did (and after Googling it, I still don't). She then brought out a little mirror, re-did her lipstick and asked a man to take her photo.

I then walked to the opposite side of the city to get a sharpening stone for D, and then down to the West End where I found that Henderson's was shut for refurbishment :-(

On to the Portrait Gallery, then, and a quick drink before walking down to Pollock Halls to retrieve my suitcase and back to Waverley Station. 

No wonder I fell asleep on the train back to Lockerbie!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.