Every valley

I'm not sure when I became a news junkie: maybe it was those long morning and evening commutes of my contracting years when I'd listen to Today and PM, every day, Monday to Friday, and read The Guardian and Observer at the weekends*. 

Up until last summer, I'd often start my day by firing up the Guardian website and opening each story I fancied reading in a new tab, typically ending up with a dozen or so stories to read. I'd do the same at lunchtime and often dip in and out during the evening.

Post-referendum, that all changed. I seemed torn between a morbid fascination with the political car crash taking place in America and utter despair at the Brexit situation at home. Eventually, the latter won out and over the last few months, I've found that I will often switch off the radio and approach the news websites with trepidation. 

That all changed, this morning; after last night's exit poll was confirmed, this morning, I can't stay away from the news. Thus our leisurely journey back up the A roads from Ebbw Vale to Chorley, punctuated by a delightful lunch in Shrewsbury, was made all the happier by pretty much each fresh item of news. All of a sudden the sentiments of 'Every valley' seemed more like something to look forward to and not something we've left behind. 

*No surprises there regarding my liberal reading matter, I'm guessing :-)

****
No scales
(And no words)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.