Mind the gap

I do like how nature fills the gaps we leave – if we let it. This is by the river in Appleby. It is the entrance to the cricket ground which was damaged by the floods – I say damaged, when I really mean destroyed, as the water lifted the paving stones and threw them around. Now all sorts of vegetation has taken over, including these flowers. I know the pink stuff is Herb Robert, but the white I can only think is what I would call Lady’s Smock, others might call Cuckoo Flower. But I may be wrong entirely.
 
I know that, whatever they are, they are just common, ordinary flowers, nothing to sing and dance about, but what a great job they are doing here in filling in the gaps. I have no doubt that eventually the whole area will be covered over with concrete to make to make a new entrance, but until then . . . I like this.
   
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.