snailspace

By snailspace

Backblip: Filling in Time at Mull Head

We originally had intended to spend just three nights on the big island before going home again but the day before leaving home we looked at each other and came up with the same idea "why don't we just stay out?" 

I had thought perhaps a trip to Hoy but Mr L was feeling more adventurous and he suggested going up to Shetland. We managed to book the ferry for Sunday night.

On Sunday morning we got up at the Picky Centre, had a hearty cooked breakfast and hen wondered what to do with our time until our late night departure. We elected to go over to Deerness and take Nell for a good long walk around Mull Head. 

The weather out there was not so clement and we ended up wimping out on the big picnic walk. Instead we explored the Brough of Deerness, which we had not previously attempted on any of our many visits to Mull Head.

The steps down and up again were not as steep as I had imagined but the far side was definitely hairier than I expected. I was thankful for the chain to hang on to.

Thankfully I survived the climb and was able to make my first trip to Shetland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.