id:FOR

By FOR

reflected the digitalism - they are coming

Well , I arrived at London Euston before 7 o'clock in the morning. Honestly I was not able to sleep well while I've been seating in the couch of Caledonian Sleeper. So my first steps got me into the Starbucks at the Euston station. No chance to leave that place without having a strong coffee in the morning.


After that I quickly entered TUBE at Euston station (Northern/Victoria line) and took my connection to Westminster station (Circle&District/Jubilee line) first. Don' t ask me, why I chose the Westminster like the first stop. The truth is that I admire how this TUBE station looks inside. It' s an impressive example of clever engineering. Of course it is not faraway from National History Museum too (just a few stops). NHM was in my plans first.


Fortunately my head have worked very well despite the fact that I didn' t sleep so long during the overnight travel. It was a fortune that I found the right exit from the Tube and found this composition soon. It took just only 10 minutes of waiting for right subjects to come into my composition. Lucky me. I did almost 7 different shots or so and this one was the last one and the right one. After my job was done I came into the sunnyside of the river Thames bank near Big Ben where I met one friendly photographer on the steps and stayed in small talk with him. He told me that he saw me while I was waiting for the right composition. So he appreciated that approach and told me one important truth about the photography during our short conversation. Most of you know that mantra, I' m pretty sure : "You don' t need an expensive camera to do the great picture". I strongly agree with that thesis but I told him that he is keeping really good camera in his hands because he was holding FUJI X-T2 at that time. To be honest price of this camera (body only) is like from other galaxy for me. Only body cost more than my month paycheck so probably I' m not going for that camera soon :-)

After that  I just did a short walk and stayed near the Westminster while enjoying the sun. Before 10 am I moved back to the underground and taking the train to South Kensington Station (Circle&District/Piccadilly line).


It was surprise for me to see the Wildlife Photographer of the year exhibition. Oh yes, surprise is a right word. I will explain you why. Usually I' m expecting beautiful large prints on the walls when I' m going to see the photography exhibiton but this time ...

...I found the beautiful digital files displayed on the big LCD screens with possibility to download some information via NFC. Fortunately they used really good IPS displays for the exhibition so black colour was really black. Oh well things are changing and technology has bigger impact on us so I used to live with the new fact that if I' m going for the photo exhibition, it ' s not always mean that I' m going to see the usual frames full of high-quality prints. On the other hand I liked that exhibition a lot. maybe because it was full of beautiful images. Really worth to visit. It was good idea to start my London' s visit in NHM.

After that I moved first to do a couple of pictures at Southwark Tube Station (Jubilee line) because I like the design of the station a lot. It has pretty futuristic elements inside. And then I took a trains to Liverpool Street Station (Central/Circle/Hammersmith&City/Metropolitan line) to check-in for my 2-nights accomodation. Finally I should change the jeans for shorts nad T-shirt to enjoy more comfortable walk through the sunny Saturday's afternoon.

I' ve just passed the local area around the Gherkin and Walkie Talkie heading to St. Paul' s cathedral while I stopped for last minute climb of 311 steps of Monument. It' s great place for taking a pictures of London' s skyline (especially the skyscrapers). Accidentally I passed through the Leadenhall Market which looks really nice.

Next gallery stop?It' s so easy ;-)

Tate Modern and UK’s first major retrospective of Alberto Giacometti for 20 years.I have seen his statues for the first time last year in September at Louisiana Museum in Denmark  and I like the Tate Modern as well. No chance to miss this opportunity for the visit of the gallery. Anyway Saturday is a great day to go because the Tate Modern' s open hours are extended until 10pm in the evening. Whole exhibition matched my expectations and showed Giacometti' s ability to work with materials such a plastic, wood, metal or bronze in such an original way.

After all it' s no surprise that I used the lift to take me to the top floor (10th) of the Blavatnik Building which is another superb attraction for the visitors (viewing terrace). The views are great but ...

I fully understand that tennants of the opposite and closer luxurious building (full of appartments) are not so happy by the fact that visitors are looking into their homes constantly. Imagine the situation that you' re paying more than amount of 1 000 000 £+ or so for your brand new flat and after all you are part of the attraction (Tate' s viewings). That' s paradox because the front view onto the St. Paul' s cathedral is breathtaking and the backside is not so interesting by my subjective opinion. So we will see what will be happening in the future...

I left Tate around 10pm and take a walk around the river, stopping for a one minute silence at London Bridge. People are still bringing the flowers, candles and personal messages. I hope that it will never happening again. Never.

I finished my first day at 11pm and  was ready to sleep soon.

Check the extras too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.