Ragged indeed!

We called in at Cliburn Moss on our way home from Penrith and decided to explore the bit of the Reserve that is on the opposite side of the road to the main part, with all its paths and boardwalks etc. Here is just a meadow, full of grass and flowers. Not easy to walk in, but a delight to see.
   
Amongst all the flowers and a huge range of grasses, I chose to focus on Ragged Robin, because it is such a lovely flower and there were large colourful clusters of them amongst the grass. And it is a native plant! But apparently in decline because it likes damp ground and so much agricultural land is now drained and it is lost. Here in profusion I am happy to say. 

I am not that happy with the photos I took though. This one shows the petals best, as well as giving an idea of them clustered together, but I allowed the light to desaturate the lovely pink colour. It is obvious I am not used to photographing flowers and need some more practice.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.