Brave Blue World

By OlliEcological

Friendly sedge - a handsome individual!

Up before the sun was this morning and I had the intention of flyfishing hard until midday. Instead I made some cups of tea, ate a breakfast of baguette, Gorgonzola and chorizo and then lazed and gazed at my beautiful Hafren. Her somnolent burbling forced me doze for a couple of hours and so I didn't wet a line until lunchtime.

Lost a decent trout first cast and then lost my last hare's ear nymph soon after. Having left the box of replacements at home I nipped into Newtown to get some more and have the usual shufty at Robert Owen's tomb. If you don't know who Robert Owen is; Google him and see what a man he was!

More fishing and more lost fish this afternoon interspersed with gathering of wood for the fire that's now warming me nicely.

Of course, having heat and light means the everyone wants to pay a visit and this sedge was no exception. My calf provides a suitably hirsute platform for basking.

Tomorrow's weather looks a tad rainy, so strike camp early and fish in the rain. I quite like it actually and I brought the Gore-Tex.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.